Geek For E!

The winners of this year’s Ghastly Awards announced!

The Ghastly Awards, for excellence in horror comics.  Pretty sweet, right?  Well, the nominees were tapped, and now the winners have been announced.  Congratulations to all the winners!  Read on for the full list….


Straight from the horses mouth (or in this case, the press release), here’s the full list of winners.  Gotta say it’s a full stable of awesome.  And that’s quite enough with the horses thing, so just go on ahead and read on.

The 2011 Winners are:

Best Ongoing Title:
The Sixth Gun (Oni Press)

Best Mini-Series:
’68 (Image Comics)

Best One-Shot:
Hellblazer Annual 2011 (Vertigo)

Best New Series:
Green Wake (Image Comics)

Best Anthology:
Creepy (Dark Horse)

Best OGN:
Flesh & Blood (Monsterverse)

Best Archival Collection:
Bob Powell’s Terror (IDW Publishing)

Best Writer:
Cullen Bunn – The Sixth Gun

Best Artist:
Riley Rossmo – Green Wake

Best Inker:
Mark Bloodworth – Deadworld Last Siesta

Best Letterer:
Menton Matthews III – Monocyte

Best Colorist:
Jay Fotos – Locke & Key, ’68

Best Web Comic:
Disappointing Monsters  (Not so disappointing now, amIright?  Fine, moving on….)

Hall of Fame Inductee:
“Ghastly” Graham Ingels

I love the induction of Graham Ingels, what a wonderful way to start out the Ghastly Hall of Fame!  I lust after love his work in EC Comics.  Amazingly detailed, beautifully drawn images that haunt and scare the bejeezus out of folks even today.

Congrats all, and here’s to next year’s awards!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *